Log in

Scottish Thistle Awards 2024 – Nominations Are Now Open and Key Dates

Thinking of entering the Scottish Thistle Awards?

For over 30 years, The Scottish Thistle Awards have been recognising and championing the very best of the Scottish tourism, hospitality and events industry. The Awards honour the very best individuals, businesses and partnerships for their innovation, excellence and success.

Shout about your Achievements

The awards are a great way to share your success with your industry peers and a chance to celebrate and reward the hard work of individuals and teams.

Marketing Opportunities

The winners of all awards receive national media coverage through our partnership with News Scotland, publisher of The Times and Sunday Times Scotland and The Scottish Sun.

Get Recognition

As a winner, you join a prestigious roll of honour, earning recognition as one of the best tourism businesses in the country, providing inspiration to peers, and supporting tourism growth.

Key Dates

For 2024 a shorter and more streamlined awards programme is in place.

Nominations for all categories are open from 1st March and close on 29th March 2024. It is now easier than ever for members of the public to put forward their recommendations for businesses and individuals working hard to make Scotland such a fantastic place to visit.

Entries to all categories are open from 18th March to 28th April 2024. Businesses can enter at any time throughout this process and do not need to be nominated in order to enter. Those that have been nominated will receive an email encouraging them to complete the online entry form.

Announcements of those shortlisted for the regional awards will be made in July, with regional finals taking place in September/early October, dates vary per region. Regional winners progress to the National Final as a National finalist in their category.

The shortlist for the national-only categories will be announced in August, with the National Final taking place in November 2024.


The Scottish Thistle Awards champion innovation, collaboration and sustainable practices, in line with the ambitions of the national tourism strategy, Outlook 2030.

There are a total of 15 regional categories in this year’s programme, celebrating the very best of Scotland’s people, accommodation sector, food and drink, outdoor experiences and visitor attractions. National-only categories celebrate Scotland’s outstanding sporting events, business events and luxury experiences.

Responsible tourism remains at the heart of the Scottish Thistle Awards, supporting the aim for Scotland to be recognised globally as a leader in this field. Every entry will be required to provide evidence on how their businesses addresses key areas of responsible tourism.

This year’s programme includes the addition of one new category: Rising Star Award. This category recognises the achievements of individuals that are at the start if their career within the tourism and hospitality industry and who display a passion and enthusiasm and give companies an opportunity to demonstrate the investment they make in their workforce.

See the full list of categories here.


Get the latest from the sector

Stay up to date with our self-catering newsletter

Contact us


07379 257749

Follow us

Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy